Art Bookshop Ireland
Eine Grenze sein, Nuit Banai
Ausverkauft
  • SKU:
  • Verfügbarkeit: Ausverkauft

Eine Grenze sein, Nuit Banai

$17.00
Tax included.
BESCHREIBUNG

Grenzdenken ist zu einem prägenden Merkmal der globalen Gesellschaftsordnung des 21. Jahrhunderts geworden. In Being a Border schreibt der Kunsthistoriker, Kritiker und Theoretiker Nuit Banai über die Techniken der Grenze in der zeitgenössischen Kunst und Kultur.

Being a Border, herausgegeben von Francis Halsall und Declan Long, untersucht ein breites Spektrum künstlerischer Praktiken und politischer Anliegen und untersucht, wie Grenzdenken kultiviert und konstruiert sowie wie es kritisiert wurde. Mit Blick auf eine Reihe von Kunstpraktiken – darunter Richard Mosse, das Center for Political Beauty, Vedovamazzei und Grada Kilomba – untersucht Banai, wie Künstler Wege gefunden haben, diese zunehmend allgegenwärtigen biopolitischen und nekropolitischen Technologien und Systeme zu unterwandern.

Being a Border, der erste Teil der Transmission Sites-Reihe, ist eine gemeinsame Veröffentlichung von Paper Visual Art und dem National College of Art and Design, Dublin. Dieses Buch wurde im Anschluss an Banais Teilnahme am Art in the Contemporary World (ACW) / IMMA Visiting Critic-in-Residence-Programm im Jahr 2014 geschrieben. Transmission Sites ist eine Buchreihe über zeitgenössische Kultur. Jede Ausgabe enthält einen einzelnen ausführlichen kritischen Text eines wichtigen Theoretikers oder Autors zu einem aktuellen Anliegen. Diese Texte, die jeweils gemeinsam mit einer Partner-Bildungs- oder Kultureinrichtung erarbeitet und veröffentlicht wurden, stellen eine Reihe von Übermittlungen dar, die disziplinübergreifende Signale aussenden.

Herausgegeben von Paper Visual Art
Weiche Abdeckung
52 Seiten
100 × 150 mm
ISBN 9781916150928

KÜRZLICH ANGESEHENE PRODUKTE

NEUESTE ANKÜNFTE

SORGFÄLTIG VON UNSEREM MITARBEITER AUSGEWÄHLT

L'ombre de ton ombre, Paul Knight

$45.00

Sight Unseen: Visualising the Unseeable through Art and Science

$45.00

Postnational Art Histories: What Is Postnational Art History?

$39.00

Enough: Artists and writers on gendered violence

$45.00

Dublin City, Suburbs & County 1970s, Keith Nolan

$14.00

this is no longer entertainment, Christodoulos Makris

$14.00

A Real Living Contact with the Things Themselves, Irénée Scalbert

$34.00

Payment for Shipping Costs

$5.00
ZURÜCK NACH OBEN

Art Bookshop Ireland
Being a Border, Nuit Banai
Sold Out
  • SKU:
  • Availability: Out of stock

Being a Border, Nuit Banai

€15.00
Tax included.
DESCRIPTION

Border thinking has become a defining feature of the global social order in the twenty-first century. In Being a Border, art historian, critic, and theorist Nuit Banai writes on the technics of the border in contemporary art and culture.

Edited by Francis Halsall and Declan Long, Being a Border examines a wide span of artists’ practices and political concerns, exploring how border thinking has been cultivated and engineered as well as how it has been critiqued. Looking at a range of art practices – including Richard Mosse, the Centre for Political Beauty, Vedovamazzei, and Grada Kilomba – Banai considers how artists have found ways to subvert these increasingly pervasive biopolitical and necropolitical technologies and systems.

The first in the Transmission Sites series, Being a Border is a co-publication by Paper Visual Art and the National College of Art and Design, Dublin. This book was written following Banai’s participation in the Art in the Contemporary World (ACW) / IMMA Visiting Critic-in-Residence programme in 2014. Transmission Sites is a series of books on contemporary culture. Every edition features a single extended critical text on a current concern by a key theorist or writer. These texts, each one devised and co-published with a partner educational or cultural institution, represent a set of transmissions that signal across disciplinary fields.

Published by Paper Visual Art
Softcover
52 pages
100 × 150 mm
ISBN 9781916150928

RECENTLY VIEWED PRODUCTS

LATEST ARRIVALS

CAREFULLY SELECTED BY OUR STAFF

019 - Lena Aires, Lena Aires

€25.00

Taken By The Tide, Maria Lax

€85.00

Japan / A Love Story, Michael Kenna (Special Edition)

€75.00

Stop Tanks With Books, Mark Neville

€70.00

Malparaíso, JM Ramírez-Suassi

€65.00

ATL, Mark Steinmetz

€65.00

Train, Frankie Malone

€6.00

Malaysia ah? Yes! We speak Manglish lah! Ying Qi Tang

€65.00
BACK TO TOP