Art Bookshop Ireland
The Thousand Year Old Boy, Yvette Monahan – NEW IRISH WORKS - The Library Project
Ausverkauft
  • SKU: NIWMONAHAN
  • Verfügbarkeit: Ausverkauft

Der tausendjährige Junge, Yvette Monahan – NEUE IRISCHE WERKE

$12.00
Tax included.
BESCHREIBUNG

Im Jahr 2006 machten Höhlenforscher im Burren, Co. Clare, spannende archäologische Entdeckungen. Im Rahmen der Funde wurde auch eine ergreifende Entdeckung gemacht: das Skelett eines Kindes aus der Bronzezeit. Den Archäologen gelang es, DNA aus den Überresten zu extrahieren. Sie testeten diese DNA mit der von 150 Kindern einer örtlichen Schule. Ein Junge passte genau dazu. Dieser Junge lebt in einem Haus weniger als eine Meile von der Höhle entfernt.

Diese Geschichte faszinierte Monahan und brachte sie zu der Frage, ob eine Landschaft die individuellen und kollektiven Geschichten derer beherbergen könnte, die darüber hinweggehen. Ihre Geschichten, Mythen und Legenden sind unsichtbar und doch definieren wir unsere Kultur, ihre Hoffnungen, Träume und Ängste so. Der tausendjährige Junge erkundet den Burren als eine uralte Landschaft, die als stiller Zeuge des Lebens derer fungiert, die zuvor dort waren

Über Yvette Monahan
Yvette ist eine in Dublin ansässige Fotografin mit einem MFA der University of Ulster.
Yvette gewann 2013 sowohl den Portfolio Award bei PhotoIreland als auch bei der Slideluck Potshow für ihr Werk The time of dreaming the world wake . Die Buchpuppe wurde für den MACK First Book Award nominiert. Infolgedessen hatte sie im Rahmen von PhotoIreland 2014 eine Einzelausstellung in der Copper House Gallery. Diese Arbeit wurde auch in Großbritannien, den USA, Finnland und Frankreich ausgestellt.
Yvette veröffentlichte auch die Monographie „The time of dreaming the world wake“ im Eigenverlag, die derzeit weltweit erhältlich ist. Die Gallery of Photography in Dublin nominierte The Time of Dreaming the World Awake für den Prix Pictet Award 2015.

Im Februar 2015 startete Yvette ihr neues Projekt „The Thousand Year Old Boy“ im Rahmen des Emerging Artist Residency Award am Burren College ofArt. Obwohl die Arbeit noch in Arbeit ist, wurde sie letzten Sommer sowohl für das Remote Photo Festival als auch für das Belfast Photo Festival ausgewählt. Kürzlich wurde Yvette für den Solas Ireland Award ausgewählt, der im vergangenen Dezember in der Gallery of Photography ausgestellt wurde und im April zum Fotohof Salzburg reisen wird. Der tausendjährige Junge wird im Oktober auch im Rahmen des Belfast Exposed Futures-Programms gezeigt.

yvettemonahan.com

Über neue irische Werke
New Irish Works wurde von einer internationalen Jury aus 23 Fachleuten ausgewählt und bietet Ihnen eine Auswahl von 20 Projekten und 20 Fotografen, die die vielfältigen Praktiken aus Irland repräsentieren. New Irish Works 2016 ist ein einjähriges Projekt mit 10 Präsentationen und 20 Veröffentlichungen, das darauf abzielt, den großartigen Moment hervorzuheben, den die irische Fotografie gerade erlebt.

Die ausgewählten Künstler sind Ailbhe Ní Bhriain, Aisling McCoy, Caitriona Dunnett, Dara McGrath, Daragh Soden, David Thomas Smith, Eanna de Freine, Emer Gillespie, Enda Bowe, Jan McCullough, Jill Quigley, Kate Nolan, Mandy O'Neill und Matthew Thompson , Miriam O'Connor, Noel Bowler, Robert McCormack, Roseanne Lynch, Shane Lynam und Yvette Monahan.

Von Juli 2016 bis Juli 2017 findet jeden Monat eine Sonderpräsentation für jeweils zwei der ausgewählten Künstler im The Library Project statt. Die Präsentation umfasst eine Ausstellung und eine Publikation für jedes Künstlerprojekt. Die beiden Künstler, die während des PhotoIreland Festivals 2016 präsentiert werden, sind Daragh Soden und Mandy O'Neill.

Im Rahmen des Projekts wird PhotoIreland neue irische Werke bei wichtigen Veranstaltungen wie PhotoEspaña mit Unterstützung der irischen Botschaft in Madrid ins Ausland bringen und während Paris Photo mit Unterstützung des Centre Culturel Irlandais und Culture Ireland nach Paris bringen.

Erfahren Sie mehr: newirishworks.com

Limitierte Auflage von 200
Veröffentlicht von PhotoIreland
Weiche Abdeckung
32 Seiten
148×210 mm
ISBN: 9780995701847

KÜRZLICH ANGESEHENE PRODUKTE

NEUESTE ANKÜNFTE

SORGFÄLTIG VON UNSEREM MITARBEITER AUSGEWÄHLT

L'ombre de ton ombre, Paul Knight

$45.00

Sight Unseen: Visualising the Unseeable through Art and Science

$45.00

Postnational Art Histories: What Is Postnational Art History?

$39.00

Enough: Artists and writers on gendered violence

$45.00

Dublin City, Suburbs & County 1970s, Keith Nolan

$14.00

this is no longer entertainment, Christodoulos Makris

$14.00

A Real Living Contact with the Things Themselves, Irénée Scalbert

$34.00

Payment for Shipping Costs

$5.00
ZURÜCK NACH OBEN

Art Bookshop Ireland
The Thousand Year Old Boy, Yvette Monahan – NEW IRISH WORKS - The Library Project
Sold Out
  • SKU: NIWMONAHAN
  • Availability: Out of stock

The Thousand Year Old Boy, Yvette Monahan – NEW IRISH WORKS

€10.00
DESCRIPTION

In 2006, cavers made exciting archaeological discoveries in the Burren, Co. Clare. Within the findings, a poignant revelation was also made: the skeleton of a Bronze Age child. The archaeologists managed to extract DNA from the remains. They tested this DNA against that of 150 children from a local school. One boy was an exact match. This boy lives in a house less than one mile from the cave.

This story captivated Monahan and led her to question whether a landscape could hold the individual and collective stories of those that pass over it? Their histories, myths and legends are unseen and yet they are how we define our culture, its hopes, dreams, and fears. The thousand year old boy explores the Burren as an ancient landscape, one that acts as a silent witness to the lives of those who have gone before

About Yvette Monahan
Yvette is a Dublin-based Photographer who holds an MFA from the University of Ulster.
Yvette won both the Portfolio award at PhotoIreland and Slideluck Potshow in 2013 for her body of work The time of dreaming the world awake. The book dummy was nominated for the MACK first book award. Consequently, she had a solo show at The Copper House Gallery as part of PhotoIreland 2014. This work has also been exhibited in the UK, the USA, Finland and France.
Yvette also self-published The time of dreaming the world awake as a monograph, it is currently on sale worldwide. The Gallery of Photography in Dublin nominated The time of dreaming the world awake for the 2015 Prix Pictet award.
In February 2015, Yvette commenced her new project The thousand year old boy as part of the Emerging Artist Residency Award at the Burren College ofArt. Although, still a work in progress, the work was chosen for both the Remote Photo Festival and the Belfast Photo Festival last summer. Recently, Yvette was selected for the Solas Ireland Award,which was exhibited in the Gallery of Photography last December and will travel to Fotohof Salzburg in April. The thousand year old boy will also be shown as part of the Belfast Exposed Futures program in October.

yvettemonahan.com

About New Irish Works
Selected by an international panel of 23 professionals, New Irish Works brings you a selection of 20 projects and 20 photographers representing the diverse range of practices coming from Ireland. New Irish Works 2016 is a year long project of 10 presentations and 20 publications that aims to highlight the great moment Irish Photography is experiencing.

The artists selected are Ailbhe Ní Bhriain, Aisling McCoy, Caitriona Dunnett, Dara McGrath, Daragh Soden, David Thomas Smith, Eanna de Freine, Emer Gillespie, Enda Bowe, Jan McCullough, Jill Quigley, Kate Nolan, Mandy O’Neill, Matthew Thompson, Miriam O’Connor, Noel Bowler, Robert McCormack, Roseanne Lynch, Shane Lynam, and Yvette Monahan.

Every month from July 2016 to July 2017, a special presentation will be hosted at The Library Project for two of the selected artists at a time. The presentation will include a display and a publication for each artist’s project. The two artists that will be presented during PhotoIreland Festival 2016 are Daragh Soden and Mandy O’Neill.

As part of the project, PhotoIreland will bring New Irish Works abroad at key events like PhotoEspaña, with the support of the Embassy of Ireland in Madrid, and to Paris during Paris Photo, with the support of the Centre Culturel Irlandais and Culture Ireland.

Find out more: newirishworks.com

Limited edition of 200
Published by PhotoIreland
Softcover
32 pages
148×210 mm
ISBN: 9780995701847

RECENTLY VIEWED PRODUCTS

LATEST ARRIVALS

CAREFULLY SELECTED BY OUR STAFF

N Magazine

€30.00

Serenissima, Kelan Molloy

€15.00

City Rocker: Issue Three, Eddie Kenrick

€10.00

This Will Not End Well, Nan Goldin

€55.00

Tools for Food: The Objects that Influence How and What We Eat, Corinne Mynatt

€28.00

Dust Sucker, Jen Calleja

€10.00

Canablach Zine Issue #01

€5.00

Umbigo Issue #82

€15.00
BACK TO TOP