Art Bookshop Ireland
Punks Listen, Niall McGuirk and Michael Murphy (Eds)
Sold Out
  • Availability: Out of stock

Punks Listen, Niall McGuirk and Michael Murphy (Eds)

Tax included.

PUNKS LISTEN is the third in a series of ‘benefit books’ from the Hope Collective, Dublin’s punk/Do-It-Yourself group. Release Date October 16 It is designed to raise funds for the Red Cross Ukraine Refugee appeal.

Inspired by the punk community, in 2017 the Hope Collective released a book to raise money for the Syrian refugees. Thanks to the people who wrote for the book, and the people who bought it, they were able to present €5,000 to the Red Cross Syrian Refugee appeal.

This was followed up in 2020 by a book to assist the NHS workers and patients during the Covid-19 pandemic. Again, thanks to the writers and the buyers, they were able to donate €10,000 to the NHS Charities Together Covid-19 appeal.

The new book is a collection of pieces of writing from musicians, writers, actors and music fans. They were asked to write about a record (or a gig) that was significant to them and includes over 200 contributions from people including: Amanda Palmer, Suggs (Madness), Roddy Doyle (The Commitments), Mike Scott (The Waterboys), Gaye Black (The Adverts), Henry Rollins, Andy Cairns (Therapy?), Mike Watt (Minutemen), Josephine Wiggs (The Breeders), Kevin Godley (10cc),Tim Burgess (The Charlatans), Manda Rin (Bis), Justin Sullivan (New Model Army), Hugo Burnham (Gang of Four), Stephen Rapid (The Radiators, Trouble Pilgrims), John Robb (Membranes), Andy Moor (The Ex), Tav Falco, Franz Nicolay (The Hold Steady), Roger Miller (Mission of Burma), Dick Lucas (Subhumans/Citizen Fish/Culture Shock), Marshall Keith (The Slickee Boys), Joolz Denby, Jon Langford (The Mekons, The Three Johns), Dave Smalley (Dag nasty/DYS/All/Down By Law), Stan Erraught (Stars of heaven), Dunstan Bruce (Chumbawamba/Interrobang), Gaye Black (The Adverts), Attila The Stockbroker, Vic Goddar (Subway Sect), Thor Harris (Swans), Rob Moss (Artificial Peace/Government Issue), Jerry A. Lang (Poison Idea), Ivor Hanson (SOA, Faith, Embrace), Jeff Pezatti (Naked Raygun), Nicole Thomas(Fire Party), Sinéad Gleeson, Rónán Hession, Aidan Gillen, Brendan Canty (Fugazi, Rites of Spring, the Messthetics), David Gedge (The Wedding Present), Josephine Wiggs (The Breeders), Shawna Potter (War on Women), Andy Cairns (Therapy?), Suzi Moon and so many more.

Published by Hope Collective
320 pages
160 x 230 mm
ISBN 9780995547544




Jacobin, Issue 53: Religion


Girls Night, Eimear Lynch


Irish Arts Review Summer 2024


OOF Magazine, Issue 12


Soil Lab: A Built Experiment, Eibhlín Ní Chathasaigh, James Albert Martin, Anne Dorthe Vester, Maria Bruun / SOIL LAB


The Book of Invasions, Nathan O'Donnell


PRE-ORDER: Care in Progress, Sarah Navan


'Dentist Joe' Tote Bag