Art Bookshop Ireland
Judith: Women Making Visual Poetry
Judith: Women Making Visual Poetry
Judith: Women Making Visual Poetry
Judith: Women Making Visual Poetry
Sold Out
  • SKU: JWMVP01
  • Availability: Out of stock

Judith: Women Making Visual Poetry

Tax included.

Judith: Women Making Visual Poetry is a 260-page, full-colour book featuring visual poetry from 36 women in 21 countries, a foreword by Johanna Drucker, and essays on digital visual poetry and the future of visual poetry by Fiona Becket, on women in asemic writing by Natalie Ferris, and on feminist practice with Letraset, the ephemeral and fragility by Kate Siklosi. The book also features an excerpt from a roundtable interview of 13 women artists who work with language and craft. A list of 1181 women currently making visual poetry is also included. The anthology is edited by Amanda Earl.

The term ‘visual poetry’ within the book is a global term used for all work that integrates elements of language with another medium or engages with the graphical elements of text and mark making.

The low representation of women in canonical 20th century concrete and visual poetry anthologies is well-known, but what is perhaps less known is that anthologies that have published visual poetry in this century also suffer from gender imbalance.

There is a domino effect when women are erased from canons. Scholars who have access to research only about men will write articles and books on their work alone. This helps create the impression that the only important and interesting work is done by men. This book seeks to address and correct that imbalance.

The book is named after Judith Copithorne, a Canadian visual poet who has been active since the 1960s and deserves greater recognition and acknowledgement.

Published by Timglaset Editions
260 pages
190 x 230 mm




'Om Mother, Barbara Debeuckelaere


In Pieces


Some Magazine, Issue 18: Studio Practice


How to Survive After Art School?


Emergence Magazine Vol. 5


Mother Tongue, Issue 6


BOYS! BOYS! BOYS! Volume 7 (Collectors Edition)


Daragh Soden, Untitled I